Senior Leadership Team:

Simon Bell – Executive Headteacher

Simon Bell has been a teacher for over 20 years, having started his career as a History teacher in Brentwood. During that time, he has held senior leadership positions in three Essex schools, worked for a Local Authority School Improvement Team and as an OfSTED Inspector.  Simon has worked at William Edwards for 10 years and for the last 5 years has led the school as Head of School and Headteacher. His appointment as Executive Headteacher will ensure that there is synergy across both schools and appropriate support for Orsett Heath across the early phase of the school’s development.

Simon holds a Post Graduate qualification in Educational Leadership and holds the National Professional Qualification for Headship.

Sian Rawson – Head of School

Sian Rawson, prior to becoming Head of School at Orsett Heath Academy, was a teacher at William Edwards School since 2013 and holds a BA (Hons) degree in Geography. During her time at William Edwards, Sian completed the Widening Leadership qualification, the National Professional Qualification for Senior Leadership and the Designated Safeguarding Lead Level 3 qualification.

Sian also became House Leader at William Edwards meaning that she was safeguarding, pastoral, and behavioural lead for over 300 pupils. More recently, she was appointed as Assistant Headteacher and has worked in the development and implementation of many whole-school projects including the social, moral, spiritual and cultural programme, the PSHE curriculum, tutor time programmes, and Key Stage 3 homework projects. Outside of these areas, Sian has developed and grown the Duke of Edinburgh Award programme in to what is currently the largest and most successful cohort of participants of any school in the East of England.

Sian became Head of School at Orsett Heath Academy in September 2020, on the schools first year of opening.

Stephanie McGrane – Assistant Headteacher

Stephanie McGrane is a Loughborough University graduate and worked at William Edwards School since 2012, having worked in both comprehensive and independent schools in Bristol and Wales. Whilst at William Edwards, Stephanie worked in an incredibly strong English department as both a Lead Practitioner and Department Leader. As a Lead Practitioner, she was responsible for mentoring other staff members, developing an engaging and challenging curriculum and the quality of teaching and learning. As Department Leader, Stephanie led the English Department to the best results in the history of William Edwards.

In the wider school, Stephanie has strong experience in curriculum design through constructing the schemes of work for William Edward’s ‘Learning Through Sport’ programme and Key Stage 3 homework projects. She also holds an MA in Education and has completed her NASENCo qualification. She is currently working towards completing the National Professional Qualification for Senior Leadership.

Sheba Rushworth – Assistant Headteacher

Sheba Rushworth started her career in education over nine years ago. After gaining a 1st Class BA (Hons) in English Literature with Media and Cultural Studies, she took up her first post as a teacher of English and Media at the flagship school in the Loxford Trust, serving a community in an area of very high deprivation where almost a fifth of pupils receive special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) support.

Sheba progressed within the Trust to become the Second in Charge, and then the Head of SEND. While in this role, she closely monitored 44 students with Educational Health Care Plans and over 300 SEND Support students, working in collaboration with pupils, their families, pastoral and curriculum staff, school leaders and external agencies. This entailed setting up and overseeing structures, delivering training and implementing policies to make a positive difference to the lives of neurodiverse young people.

Sheba successfully developed the Positive Belonging Project, an early intervention to support young people with anxiety and low self-esteem. During her tenure at Loxford Trust, Sheba became an Assistant Headteacher SENDCo and Designated Safeguarding Lead. Sheba joined Orsett Heath Academy in January 2022.

To contact any member of the Senior Leadership Team please email: [email protected] and include the name of the person you wish to contact in the subject line of your email, or phone the school on: 01375 802800


Curriculum Leaders:

  • Miss S McGrane: English
  • Mr A Barrow: Science
  • Mrs G Johnson: Maths
  • Miss R Smith: Humanities
  • Mrs E Milesi: Performing Arts
  • Mr B Rungay: PE
  • Mrs G Neale: Modern Foreign Languages

To contact any Curriculum Leader please call direct on 01375 802800.


To contact the school SENCO, please email: [email protected]

To contact the school Designated Safeguarding Lead, please email: [email protected]